The world we knew on 1st February bears no resemblance to what we experience today.

As every day passes, new guidance is issued by the UK authorities and, like every other business, the golfing industry is not exempt from the problems that such guidance brings.

Today we can travel by car - but who knows what the decision maybe next week. Those aged over 70 are advised not to participate in social gatherings - but what will it be tomorrow?

The DGU needs to show it understands the predicament we all face and has, therefore, made the decision that ALL of its events are immediately CANCELLED until further notice.

The cancellation includes Spring Meeting: Inter-club League: Jubilee Plate: Scratch and Senior Inter-county matches and Junior events and any planned Council Meeting normally held at Denbigh GC.

At a later date, we will review whether the County Captains Day and Autumn Meeting will be included within the cancellation and of course a Council Meeting later in the year.

If any events do proceed later in the year then they will do so under a break-even policy.

We hope that you can support us in our decision and understand our reasoning

Kind regards

Ian Davies

DGU Admin Secretary

Our fixture list for the year has now been published. Please follow the drop-down on the front page: COMPETITIONS > FIXTURES.

Please try to support our main events: Spring Meeting - Captains Day - Autumn Meeting

Enjoy your year

As we approach the end of our golfing year and our forthcoming AGM (Denbigh GC Wed 11th December), we wish to advise of the following vacancy within the administration of our County.

We are seeking applications for an 'Assistant Secretary' who can shadow our present Secretary over 2020 and with a requirement for him to assume the role of 'Full Secretary' for the 2021 season and onwards.

In a perfect world we are looking for someone who has a few minutes a day to check and respond to e-mails; who has immediate access to word-processing facilities, with a logical mind and an administrative background.

You will be expected to attend 4 meetings every year and provide support to the other Executive Officers (President - Captain - Treasurer - Team Managers) and be part of the administration team for the 3 County events of the year.

We can provide a very small honorarium and of course cover all certified expenses involved in the role. The only major benefit you will receive is having complimentary entry into the annual County Presidents Day and Dinner. 18 holes of golf and a three course meal for no cost will surely be the pinnacle of your year and will undoubtedly attract great interest 

Therefore, if you are interested in playing a vital part in the County, please send an email to our County Secretary Ian Davies - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Thanks for reading this post and, if not attractive to yourself, then please spread the word to other members at your club. If we don't fill the position then we could be struggling in 2021.

After thorough examination and cross-checking of scores, we are delighted to announce the winners as follows:

COUNTY CAPTAINS DAY : 1st Place : Ian Hall from Plassey

COUNTY CAPTAINS DAY : 2nd Place : Richard Collier from Clays

COUNTY CAPTAINS DAY : 3rd Place : Iqbal Shergill from Clays

COUNTY SCRATCH CHAMPION : Tony Phillips from Wrexham

COUNTY CHAMPION 6-16 : Mike Jones from Clays

COUNTY CHAMPION 17+ : Patrick Whelan from Clays



NEAREST THE PIN : Les Waddell from Moss

May we thank Clays GC for hosting the event and all competitors for supporting County Captains Mike Shaw on his special day.


Games are in three-balls at 8 minute intervals. 

Time Club Name
9.20 Pwllglas RON KELLY 16
9.20 Llangollen PHIL GEE 14
9.20 Wrexham LEE ROBERTS 7
9.28 Llangollen TONY MASH 18
9.28 Pwllglas PHIL CORBETT 11
9.28 Pwllglas WAL BROWETT 18
9.36 Moss LES WADDELL 9
9.36 Clays PHIL DAVIES 9
9.36 Clays KEV SCAIFE 9
9.44 Wrexham LUKE PARRY 4
9.44 Clays ANDY MATTHEWS 8
9.44 Clays ANDREW JONES 13
9.52 Wrexham ANDY DAVIES 7
9.52 Clays JUSTIN BULL 18
9.52 Clays DON WRAIGHT 10
10.00 Wrexham IAN DAVIES 5
10.00 Clays DAVE PALFERMAN 12
10.08 Wrexham KEVIN LEWIS 11
10.08 Clays NIGEL DAVIES 14
10.08 Clays BARRY DARE 23
10.16 Wrexham GERAINT WILLIAMS 9
10.16 Clays M CARNELL 17
10.16 Clays MIKE HOLLINGS 20
10.24 Wrexham TONY PHILLIPS 6
10.24 Clays MIKE JONES 10
10.24 Clays M MCHUGH 12
10.32 Pwllglas JOHN LL WILLIAMS 6
10.32 Clays TONY JACKSON 16
10.32 Clays ANDREW JONES 14
10.40 Clays RON ROBERTS 12
10.40 Clays STEWART POOLE 20
10.40 Llangollen IAN HUMPHRIES 9
10.48 Clays DILLY JONES 19
10.48 Clays TOM PIERCE 12
10.48 Moss CHRIS PARRY 10
10.56 Clays KEITH M JONES 19
10.56 Clays ERNIE WILLIAMS 14
11.04 Clays MIKE TURNER 19
11.04 Clays IQBAL SHERGILL 24
11.04 Moss BRYN JONES 17
11.12 Clays REG PEACOCK 18
11.12 Clays STUART LEYLAND 22
11.12 Plassey D BRAYSHAW 27
11.20 Clays D RILEY 7
11.20 Clays SHAUN POWELL 12
11.20 Plassey P JOHNSON 9
11.35 Clays PAT WHELAN 21
11.35 Clays PAUL LLOYD 5
11.35 Plassey W HAROLD 8
11.43 Clays TONY HARCOMBE 19
11.43 Clays BOB BROWN 26
11.43 Plassey S LARGE 18
11.51 Clays G D CLARKE 10
11.51 Clays JOSH GREEN 0
11.51 Plassey IAN HALL 13
12.00 Llangollen K WALSH 8
12.00 Llangollen ANDY BARNETT 7
12.00 Clays PAUL STEVENSON 11
12.08 Llangollen HUW ROBERTSON 2
12.08 Llangollen G SMITH 6
12.08 Clays IWAN BONDS 5
12.16 Plassey ROB PARKES 10
12.16 Llangollen MAL KAMI 6
12.16 Llangollen RICHARD OAKMAN 15
12.24 Denbigh DAVID A JONES 15
12.24 Pwllglas RICHARD COWELL 7
12.24 Llangollen BARRY BUCHANAN 8
12.32 Denbigh MARC SHAW 11
12.32 Moss MIKE SHAW 5
12.32 Llangollen DEWI OWEN 14
12.40 Moss MARK GRAYDON 21
12.40 Denbigh ERIC HOWELLS 11
12.40 Plassey TONY HUGHES 19
12.48 Denbigh KEIRAN SHAW 22
12.48 Moss PETER DAVIES 18
12.48 Llangollen DAVID E GRIFFITHS 9
12.56 Moss PETER EVANS 14
12.56 Moss ALLAN JONES
12.56 Denbigh ANDY O'LOUGHLIN 11
13.04 Denbigh GARY MORGAN 4
13.12 Llangollen DAVID ETHELSTON 20
13.12 Denbigh
13.12 Denbigh ARWEL HUGHES 4
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1  2 
  •  Next 
  •  End 

Page 1 of 2

Go to top