Tuesday September 5th saw the annual DGU Presidents Day competition take place at Abergele GC. This is the 21st time it has been held since being instigated by LVP Gwyn Lewis in 1997 and is contested by teams from each club normally consisting of their President, Captain, VC and Secretary if available. Teams are also normally submitted by the DGU Captain, DGU Officers, Denbighshire Past Captains Society and DGU Presidents guests - although this year, due to exceptional circumstances, there was no Ruthin Pwllglas or DGU Officers team competing. Only club teams are eligible to win prizes in the main competition for the Presidents Cup.

The weather was appalling as the first team tee'd off at 12:30 but thankfully improved with the rain stopping about 13:00, although there was no sun until the final few holes. As ever Abergele provided an excellent course for the competition with some very challenging pin positions on some holes. Thanks from the DGU to the greenstaff on turniing out a course in excellent condition.

The main competition (team event best 2 scores to count) was incredibly close with 5 teams separated by only 3 points. The par 3 competition (all scores to count) was also keenly contested being decided on countback.

An excellent dinner was enjoyed by all in the evening accompanied by the appropriate consumption of alcohol. Master of Ceremonies LVP John LLoyd Jones then introduced the Abergele President John Percy-Hughes who welcomed everyone to Abergele. President Tony Harcombe then addressed the meeting thanking Abergele for hosting the event at relatively short notice and providing such an excellent venue and service. He also exorted all clubs to try much harder to support DGU events - the Autumn meeting at Vale of Llangollen this year and those planned for 2018 - asking them to actively promote amongst their members rather than just rely on the noticeboard. This was then followed by the presentation of prizes as follows:-

Ball sweep - each receiving 8 balls, Mike Shaw (Moss Valley) and Geoff Keenan (Vale of Llangollen) for 2's on the thirteenth and, particularly noteworthy, David Rawson (Presidents guest) on the par 4 fourth.

Nearest the pin on the second winning bottles of wine - George Smith (Vale of Llangollen) 17'1" (it was quite windy and not many balls on the green!)

Par 3 competition - winning bottles of wine the Presidents team with 35 points winning on countback with a better back 9 than Vale of Llangollen.

Presidents Cup - first 3 winning vouchers provided by the President.

fifth Moss Valley 85 points - they were congratulated on their triumph in the Welsh Team Handicap finals at Celtiv Manor

fourth Aberegele 86 points

third Old Colwyn (last years winners) also 86 points but with a better back 6.

second Rhos-on-Sea 87 points

first Vale of Llangollen 88 points - in adition to being presented with the Presidents Cup and winners vouchers each member of their team received a medal commissioned by LVP Gwyn Lewis (who unfortunately was unable to be present at the meal) in recognition of this being the 21st anniversary of the event. The winning team thanked all who had contributed to hosting the event at Abergele and the competition organisers in their acceptance speech.

County Captain Ray Ledsham  then responded to the Presidents address castigating the Secretary for not warning him in adbvance that this was his duty, and his team members for their poor play!

After the raffle of bottles donated by each Club (raising £225 from which a contribution to the catering staff was made) DGU President Tony then brought a very enjoyable day for all attending to an end, wishing everyone a safe journey home.

Go to top